Barnmouse Blitherings


A LABOR DAY MIRACLE A FEW DAYS EARLY
August 31, 2007, 4:51 pm
Filed under: whineyness

People, we have cool air.  Say it with me now….

AHHHHHHHHhhhhhhhhhhhh

The temperature in the house has dropped 10 degrees to a lovely 82 (considering it was 91 last night, 82 is just wonderful).  100_1908

Apparently the old 19 year old unit (hee! unit!) wasn’t working well to begin with, even when it was…well…working!  The new AC is divine!  You don’t have to put your hand over a vent to feel the air coming out.  Who knew we’d been living in squalor up until now?

Here is how we made it through the nights:100_1907

Those are my Bubba Kegs.  They are both filled to the brim with ice water.  (and yes, I said “Bubba Kegs”.)  I was a good girl and shared the blue one with Rat, even though normally he makes fun of “The Bubbas”.  I’m looking forward to actually sleeping tonight.

Unfortunately, super duper AC comes with a hefty price tag, so that means we won’t be able to take the trip to Alabama for Rat’s TaeKwonDo tournament in October.  I was all prepared to be nice to him (the things I do for love!) for awhile because now with the AC and the lawyer bills (whole ‘nother story) all our extra cash (which wasn’t exactly extra to begin with) is gone.  Rat surprised me by saying how sorry he was that we couldn’t go to Alabama (like I was going to be crushed or something) which I thought was very sweet.  I mean, we were going to go to the zoo and to the space museum and stuff.  The whole trip wasn’t going to just be TKD stuff, and I was looking forward to it, but it’s really no big deal to me.  I’ve already got a friend’s wedding in October to look forward to!  Anyway, I just thought I’d mention that Rat can be sweet at times (I just always seem to mention the “not so sweet” moments)!

Okay, let’s see what other interesting things have happened.  Oh!  Last night, when pulling into the garage after picking Rat up at TaeKwonDo, I noticed something was terribly wrong after the garage door got nearly half way up.  There was something flitting around in the garage that looked like a hummingbird or a small bat or something equally scary!  I made Rat get out of the Jeep and go “chase the thing out of the garage”.  Of course, sitting in the car, I couldn’t see what he was staring at on the floor, which just made it scarier!  He got our old sort of clear salad bowl that had cracked (multiple times….oops….not dishwasher safe I guess) and put it on top of “the thing”.  Once I was assured (many times) that it was indeed safe again in the garage, I got out of the Jeep and went to see what it was.

It was THIS

100_1901  

Oh yeah.  THAT, my friends, is a cicada.  They are disgusting.  And HUGE!  And disgusting.  It’s like a gigantic horsefly.  Which I do not like either.  I’m sure everyone has seen these and y’all are all thinking “you big sissy!”….well….okay…..yeah!  Maybe so.  But ewwww!!!!!

I think it was looking for a place to die or something because we got it outside the garage last night, but it only got about 15 feet.  I found it on the walkway to our front door this morning.  Dead.  But still disgusting.

In other news, Winston is totally amazed and perplexed by a bird.

100_1910

Not surprising.

His eyes always do that weird thing when the flash goes off that makes him look like some kind of lemur…and no, he’s not really cross eyed (but damn that looks funny, doesn’t it?).

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

