Barnmouse Blitherings


We interrupt your regularly scheduled programing
October 12, 2007, 3:59 pm
Filed under: general wonderment, it was all his fault

I know, I KNOW! I said that there was a rant coming. And there is. Just not today. I was all set to continue writing the aforementioned rant but I just couldn’t muster the um…pissed-off-ed-ness (that is SO a word!) that I needed.

Last night, for some reason unbeknownst to me, I decided that instead of eating on the floor in front of the tv like a couple of college kids with no supervision, that I would clean the layers upon layers of junk off of our kitchen table and set up a nice romantic dinner for Rat and me. Complete with pretty candles and everything. Now, I have attempted this before, but Rat always seems to be in a hurry to get back to his computer or the tv. Not this time! I have no explanation for this freak turn of events.

We sat and talked about just about everything. From whether or not it would be worth adding on to our house (my vote: not) to once when he was little he accidentally sliced a big gash into his mother’s couch, and then sowed it up with a needle and thread and no one noticed for months! (it was a very cute story)

The dinner was very tasty as well, if I do say so myself, but the pork tenderloin, saffron rice, and green beans paled in comparison to just sitting and having dinner with my hubby.

Tonight I’m making a roast and we’ll see how that turns out. I finally broke down and bought a new crock pot today because I just couldn’t stand to use the old one any more. We got it as a wedding gift and it’s divided into two sections so you can cook your main dish and a side dish at the same time. I know. Sounds great, right? Wrong. There aren’t many things that you can cook for as long as something you cook in a crock pot that don’t end up mushy, burnt, or in several cases, BOTH. And to add to that, since the container part is divided, the portion that you would cook the main dish in is waaay too small. So even if you don’t use the extra stupid-small section stuff still ends up spilling in there and burning and it’s incredibly difficult to scrub that out. I also make this crock pot (I keep typing “crack pot” hee) mulled cider around the holidays and I have always had to try and divide everything up because the main section won’t hold everything, so I’ve got to make a big portion and then a little portion. I’m looking forward to trying that out in my new crock pot! Oh! And! (as if this wasn’t boring enough) I can now use those crock pot liners! Because they will fit now! Yippee! I’m all about less cleaning.

Maybe that rant will be along shortly.

….And now back to your regularly scheduled programming….


10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Mmm…. pork tenderloin.
Isn’t it amazing how simple dinners like that can make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside? I think it’s because life is so busy that we are constantly just running by each other sharing only the important stuff (don’t forget you have a dentist appt, where’s the keys to the car, I think the dog is sick, etc) and we don’t get to really connect. I know I sound like a hallmark commercial but you know what I mean. Right…? ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by Sarah

Crock pot liners??? I’ve never heard of them, and I LOVE LOVE LOVE my crock pot! Do tell!!!!
By the way, I always write crock pit ๐Ÿ˜€

Comment by Arlene

Arlene – Yup! Crock Pot liners!!! Ingenious invention! The plastic bag! Woo! lol They’re made by Reynolds and are by the ziploc bags and stuff at the grocery store.

Sarah – Yes! I DO know what you mean! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Comment by barnmouse

I usually make the Boyfriend sit at a restaurant and talk to me because this girl ain’t about cooking.

I got a crock pot this summer! I’ve never had one so I need some easy recipes. And an instruction manual. Maybe a fire extinguisher. Want to come over and use my crock pot?

Comment by Shell

Shell – crock pots are sooo easy! You should find a few good recipes (I have a really good cheesy chicken one) that you really like. Basically the rule is if it’s going to cook for 8 hours or more, you put it on low, and if you completely forget about dinner until about 2pm (like me) then you cook whatever it is for 4 hours on high. Took me a long time to figure that one out! ๐Ÿ˜›

Comment by barnmouse

I recommend the Fix it and Forget it cookbook.

My mother-in-law gave me a new crock pot a couple of Christmases ago, and she gave me that book to go with it.

I signed up for some free samples of the liners not too long ago, and was planning to use them when i was making a big pot of bean dip for a party where i knew the crockpot wouldn’t get cleaned out for well over 24 hours. after i had all of the stuff in the pot and ready to go, my husband noticed that i’d forgotten to use the liner. d’oh!

Comment by rhiannon

rhiannon – I have done that SO many times! LOL I’ll think okay…here’s the liner…don’t forget it and then about 10 seconds after I put the first thing in the crock pot, I remember the liner! DOH!

Comment by barnmouse

Ummm…you know what tomorrow is…right?

You know…that promise that you’re going to post every Thursday.

Uh huh. I’ll be watching.

Comment by Shell

And email me the cheesy chicken recipe. If anything has cheese in it then it HAS to be good.

Comment by Shell

Shell – HaHa! (thanks for reminding me!! LOL) and also, I think I have your email address, I’ll send you that recipe tomorrow. It is so super easy and simple and it smells soooooo gooooood (not to mention it’s damn tasty). Maybe I’ll even post it here! ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by barnmouse




Leave a comment