Barnmouse Blitherings


Jet lag without the jet

So pretty much just “lag”.

I’m up at *checking watch* 1:40 in the morning….again. Well, tonight’s not as bad as yesterday when I was up until about 6. And then got up at 8.

Personally, I blame Rat for this. He had last Wed, Thurs, and Fri off so we’ve been watching movies and stuff until the wee hours of the morning for 5 days. Until last night. When Rat promptly went to bed at 11. And I was left alone and totally awake.

I have a hard enough time falling asleep when I’m in a “routine”. Sometimes I’ll just lay there for 2 or 3 hours. Starring at the ceiling. Or the wall. Or the clock. And I hate that. It drives me crazy. And my bad back doesn’t help things at all since it dictates what side I can sleep on and for how long. So I always end up tossing and turning. And we have a horrible mattress. It’s awful. I hate it sooo much. And I’ve also complained about it soooo much. So much so that Rat kinda gets pissy about it now when I bring it up. So I’m just going to complain about it here from now on. Hee! Lucky you!

So what have I been doing all this time awake you ask? (oh hush, you know you were going to ask) Well yesterday I looked at a lot of boring stuff on the internet. I caught up with my blog reading and some other lists that I’m on and had been ignoring. I watched a lot of Family Guy and King of the Hill. And I’m sure I did other stuff that I don’t remember at the moment.

Tonight, on the other hand, I decided to be productive.

100_2094

MY BROWNIES, LET ME SHOW YOU THEM!

And that’s caramel swirled into the top there. I know it’s not the greatest picture, but it’s freakin’ 2 in the morning and I just finished baking “Caramel Swirl Hunks” from scratch. SCRATCH, people! No mix at all. I’m talking I chopped up chocolate hunks for this. I measured and mixed and folded and blended! And all without waking Rat up.

I don’t know why I have this thing for baking stuff in the wee hours of the night (morning?) but I do. I think I like it because it’s quiet and I’m by myself and I can dance around the kitchen and make funny faces if I want to. Also, I talk to the kitties when they make their appearances in the kitchen to beg for scraps which they don’t get. Winston will usually plop down in the middle of the floor and keep me company for awhile. Once Neezie realizes she’s not getting any meat she rolls her eyes and goes to drool on my dining room chairs.

Winston’s had some sort of bug up his butt tonight though. I’ve been doing everything I can to keep quiet and he’s tearing around the house chasing one of his jingly balls that makes a lot of noise on the hardwood floors.

Though looking around now, I can’t seem to find him….and I don’t hear him either. Although….he does kind of have built-in camouflage.

100_2093

CHAMELEON CAT IZ BLENDYN.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

well. lets see, congrats on the brownies. i make “from scratch” although i DO buy bags of chocolate chips instead of taking the time to cut up semi sweet chocolate. so sue me. anyway,i digress. i must say #1 cut out caffeine. go cold turkey if you must. if you can’t then at least stop eating and drinking at like 8 pm. cut out caffeine after noon if you can, if you can’t cut it out at 8 pm then move it up. i cut out caffeine 2 months ago. maybe a little longer and although the biggest challenge is finding something caffeine AND sugar free to drink except water, well lets just say i go to bed and zonk. completely. and buy a new mattress. go to one of those denver mattress and get the no payments no interest for 2 years and just make payments $100 or $50 or $25 at a time until you get it paid off. we got a doctors choice from denver and its a little firm for me, but i still sleep, and my hubby loves it. good for bad backs.

Comment by jill

I love your kitty captions!! And your brownies look yummy! You can come have insomnia at my house!

Comment by Arlene

Luckily for me I’ve never had a problem falling asleep. But on the rare occasions that I do I often fall victim to the random baking/cleaning/organizing tirades. I find it much more rewarding than watching tv 🙂
Your brownies look awesome by the way! I could never handle brownies from scratch. The only things I can make from scratch are cookies and breads (banana bread, pumpkin bread, etc).

Comment by Sarah

Oh those brownies look good. You have to share the recipe.

And I want a really good pumpkin bread recipe since my Mom won’t share hers.

Comment by Shell




Leave a Reply

