Barnmouse Blitherings


Going through withdrawl
October 26, 2007, 11:19 pm
Filed under: drop the cupcake and no one gets hurt, whineyness

I’ve been looking for this caramel-type sauce called dulce de leche lately. Supposedly, it’s in the Mexican food section of “well stocked grocery stores”. Liars. The lot of them.

I’ve been to 5 different “well stocked” grocery stores and still here I sit. With no caramel cupcakes. No caramel brownies. No caramel ANYTHING.

Hmph.

These grocery stores carry at least 50 different kinds of salsa, but can’t be bothered with one little jar of my sauce. Shocking. I know.

I guess tomorrow will have to be devoted to driving around town looking for little-known, non-advertised little Mexican market type places. Yeah. I’m not looking forward to that. These places can be very well hidden and most often have next to no parking.

Sorry for the whine, but I’m at a loss for any other material at the moment.

Maybe I can find some cheese to go with it. hee hee

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Are you looking in the salsa section or the mexican part of the international foods section? Have you looked online for recipes? Here’s one with only 4 ingredients:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/food/recipes/recipe/0,1977,FOOD_9936_15250,00.html

Comment by Beth

I’m pretty much looking through the entire store. *sigh* I thought of another grocery store that might carry it last night while I was trying to go to sleep, so I went there today and…nothing. Blast! I have looked at making it, but it has to simmer for 1 1/2 to 2 hours. I’m not sure I’m that committed to it! LOL

Comment by barnmouse

Okay…I just looked at that recipe and I really think I might try it…very tempting…

Comment by barnmouse

Next time girlfriend just drop me an email. I have a large Mexican grocery store right down the street from me and I’m not scared of going in there. It’s HUGE. I love going in there at Christmas because they have all kinds of goodies in there.

Comment by Shell




Leave a Reply

